How Watford’s revised Premier League squad is taking shape

Watford will resubmit a new squad to the Premier League on Tuesday, reflecting the new signings they have made in Mario Suarez, Nordin Amrabat and Costel Pantilimon and those who have left the club, permanently or on loan. The Hornets only submitted 24 names at the end of the summer window, one short of the maximum because they did not have enough home-grown players over the age of 21 to select from.

If the Hornets were to do any last-minute deals for a foreign player on deadline day tomorrow, then they would have to leave out two foreign players as, including Essaid Belkalem who was on the list for the first half of the season, they already have one over the maximum. They do, however, have room in the squad for one more home-grown player, potentially two as Rene Gilmartin is injured and will not feature again this season. Any player who does not make the list and is not moved on remains at the club on full salary but cannot be used for any Premier League games.

To refresh your memory, each Premier League team can only register 25 players over the age of 21. Of those 25 players, no more than 17 can be foreign players. In other words, if the Hornets want to submit the maximum 25 names to the Premier League they have to have at least eight home-grown players. A team can submit less than 25 names but still only 17 can be foreign. An unlimited number of U21 players can be named.

Watford’s list of senior players at the club:

Foreign players

Heurelho Gomes

Costel Pantilimon

Allan Nyom

Miguel Britos

Sebastian Prödl

Jose Holebas

Juan Carlos Paredes

Joel Ekstrand

Mario Suarez

Valon Behrami

Etienne Capoue

Adlène Guedioura

Jose Manuel Jurado

Almen Abdi

Nordin Amrabat

Steven Berghuis

Odion Ighalo

Essaid Belkalem

Foreign players dropped from previous list: Victor Ibarbo, Giedrius Arlauskis, Alessandro Diamanti

TOTAL:  18

Home-grown players

Craig Cathcart

Ikechi Anya

Ben Watson

Sean Murray

Lloyd Dyer

Troy Deeney

Rene Gilmartin

Home-grown players dropped from previous list: Connor Smith


Unlimited number of under-21 players, including

Obbi Oulare

Tommie Hoban

Nathan Ake

Nathan Gartside